India has a vast railway network. It is also one of the oldest railway networks in the world. Traveling by train is the best mode of transport, as it is the most enjoyable journey. One can see the beauty of nature, landscapes etc. Though, train journeys are long, but super fast trains have helped to lessen this shortcoming of traveling by train.

Here is a list of 10 fastest express trains of India

1> Gatimaan Express (New Delhi-Agra)

Gatimaan Express is a semi high speed train that runs between New Delhi and Agra with the maximum speed of 160 km per hr. The train takes a travel time of 105 minutes to cover 200 KM journey. The fare of this train service is be 25 per cent more normal fare of Shatabdi Express. It will have 12 modern coaches. The train has Executive Class and Chair Car category of seats and also a catering facility. An eight inch LCD is also fixed behind each seat.
2> Shatabdi Express (New Delhi-Bhopal)

Shatabdi Express is one of the fastest and prestigious trains. New Delhi- Bhopal Shatabdi Express, the train operates between New Delhi, and Bhopal Junction. It runs at a speed of 91 km/h. It is the fastest train in India and was introduced in 1988.
3> Rajdhani Express (Mumbai-New Delhi)

Mumbai Rajdhani Express is a super fast express train of Rajdhani class. Rajdhani express is a super fast train introduced in India in 1972. The Mumbai- New Delhi Rajdhani Express is the second fastest train in India. Earlier, it used to cover the distance of 1385 kilometers in each direction in about 19 hours and 5 minutes. However, after the electrification of the route, the train has improved its speed and now it takes 15 hours 50 minutes at an average speed of 90.45 per hr.
4>Duronto Express (Sealdah-New Delhi)

It is a non stop train connecting West Bengal to national capital New Delhi. There are no technical halts in the train journey. It is considered as the fastest and most time- efficient train on the Grand Chord route between these two cities. It runs at an average speed of 91.13 km/hr with an average.
5> Kanpur Reverse Shatabdi (New Delhi- Kanpur)

Kanpur New Delhi Shatabdi Express is the second Shatabdi Express Train for Kanpur Central, Lucknow Swarna Shatabdi Express being the first one. It is called as Kanpur Reverse Shatabdi because of reverse time table of Lucknow Shatabdi Express.
6> Howrah Rajdhani Express (New Delhi-Howrah)

The Howrah Rajdhani Express is the first Rajdhani train run by Indian railways between Howrah and New Delhi. Howrah Rajdhani is the first fully air-conditioned coaches train and the first express train in India to have five AC-2 tier coaches.
7> Howrah Duronto (New Delhi-Howrah)

The Howrah-New Delhi Duronto Express is also known as Kolkata Duronto Express and a very important train between Kolkata and the national capital. Kolkata Duronto train uses the Grand Chord route of Eastern Zone Indian Railways and one of the fastest trains on this route after Delhi Duronto, Sealdah Rajdhani and Howrah Rajdhani Express.
8> Allahabad Duronto Express (New Delhi- Allahabad)

The Lokmanya Tilak Terminus – Allahabad Duronto Express train is the fastest train between Mumbai and Allahabad and one of the superfast express train of Indian Railways between Lokmanya Tilak Terminus and Allahabad Junction. Allahabad Duranto is a fully AC train and uses refurbished Rajdhani Express Coaches.
9> Sealdah Rajdhani Express (Sealdah- New Delhi)

The Sealdah Rajdhani Express connects Sealdah station of Kolkata to Delhi and is the second fastest train on the Sealdah- Delhi sector after Sealdah Duronto Express. Sealdah Rajdhani Express train is regularly hauled by a WAP 7 locomotive, a High Speed locomotive developed by Chittaranjan Locomotive Works.
10> Garib Rath (Nizamuddin-–Bandra)

Mumbai Bandra T- Hazrat Nizamuddin Garib Rath Express is a fastest express train of the Garib Rath category,runs between Bandra Terminus and Hazrat Nizamuddin. The Garib Rath Express is the 2nd fastest train with top speed of 81.15 km/ hr on the Mumbai Delhi sector after Rajdhani Express.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *